New Regulation on Intercity Travels and Entries to Government Offices

According to the latest regulations, those who want to enter a public institution or to have intercity travel using public transportation (bus, plane, or train) in Türkiye are obliged to obtain a special code (HES- Hayat Eve Sığar- Code).

What is HES?

HES is the abbreviation of Hayat Eve Sığar (Life Fits into Home) which is a mobile application pioneered by the Ministry of Health that tracks the contraction of the COVID-19 virus and shares maps of health services and risk areas.

How to Obtain a HES Code?

Option one:

By sending an SMS to 2023 in the following format: HES [space] your foreign ID number [space] your birth year [space] the number of days you will stay in another city (including your travel days). You will receive your HES code for the days you request. The SMS message must be sent from a mobile phone registered on a Turkish mobile network.

Example: HES 9978964XXX 1990 61

Important: You do not need to type the number of days if it is not certain or you cannot estimate it. In this regard, you will receive a code valid for 1 year. You can use this HES code for your intercity travels for 1 year.

Option two:

Download the Hayat Eve Sığar (HES) mobile app to your mobile device. From the HES Code Operations section, you may acquire your code.

Option three (If you do not have a foreign ID number):

Send your passport details by SMS to 2023 in the following format:
HES [space] Nationality (GBR) [space] passport number [space] year of birth [space] surname.


The wearing of face masks is mandatory at all times outside the home in the following provinces which includes major cities and some tourist areas:

Adıyaman, Afyonkarahisar, Agri, Amasya, Ankara, Ardahan, Aydın, Balıkesir, Bartın, Batman, Bilecik, Bingöl, Bitlis, Bolu, Burdur, Bursa, Çanakkale, Denizli, Diyarbakır, Düzce, Elazığ, Erzurum, Eskişehir, Gaziantep, Giresun, Iğdır, Isparta, Istanbulİzmir ,Kahramanmaraş, Karabük, Kayseri, Kırklareli, Kocaeli, Konya, Kütahya, Malatya, Mardin, Muğla, Muş, Nevşehir, Ordu, Osmaniye, Rize, Sakarya, Siirt, Sinop, Sivas, Şanlıurfa, Şırnak, Tokat, Tunceli, Uşak, Yalova, Yozgat and Zonguldak.

Those who do not abide by this rule may be issued with a fine of 900 ₺ (116 € approximately). Follow Turkish announcements and local media for up to date information.